The Porticos

Friday , 08/10/2012 - 16:19
The Porticos
The roofed buildings around the holy shrine are called porticos [Ravaghs]. The porticos are structures with different heights, which have been constructed gradually around the holy shrine of Imam Reza (A.S.) and have undergone changes in the course of time.

At the present time, the holy shrine of Imam Reza (A.S.) consists of 28 porticos and the holy grave looks like a ring surrounded by these porticos.

Each portico enjoys a special location, situation, dimensions, decorations, and inscriptions and some of them may be under reconstruction and renovation. They will be mentioned one by one in the following according to their chronological precedence.

Dar-al-Huffaz Portico
Dar-al-Siyadah Portico
Hatam Khani Dome Portico
Allah Verdi Khan Dome Portico
Tawhid Khanah Portico
Dar-al-Fayd Portico
Dar-al-Shukr Portico
Dar-al-Sharaf Portico
Dar-al-Surur Portico
Dar-al-Izzah Portico
Dar-al-Dhikr Portico
Dar-al-Zuhd Portico
Sheikh Bahauddin (R.A.) Portico
Dar-al-Ibadah Portico
Dar-al-Ikhlas Portico
Dar-al-Wilayah Portico
Dar-al-Ijabah Portico
Dar-al-Hidayah Portico
Dar-al-Rahmah Portico
Dar-al-Hikmah Portico
Dar-al-Hujjah Portico
Imam Khomeini (R.A.) Portico
Dar-al-Karamah Portico
Sheikh Tusi Portico
Sheikh Hurr-i-Ameli Portico